Conermann_Photo_AB

Prof. Dr. Stephan Conermann

Prof. Dr. Stephan Conermann is Director of the Department of Near Eastern History and Languages at the University of Bonn, where he has been Professor of Islamic Studies since 2003. He is also Vice President for International Affairs at the University of Bonn and founding member of the Center for Religion and Society at the university. With research interests in the fields of transformation processes in Muslim societies in the era of European colonialism and imperialism, Muslim historiography and identification processes and Islam in Germany – amongst others – he has published extensively on the history of the modern ‘Orient’ as well as on resulting European – Middle East relations today. He is also series editor of „Bonner Islamstudien“ (BIS), „Bonner Asienstudien“ (BAS), „Bonner islamwissen-schaftliche Hefte“ (BiH), „Narratologia Aliena“ und „Mamluk Studies“.

Harrer_Photo_AB

Dr. Gudrun Harrer

Dr. Gudrun Harrer is Senior Editor of Austria’s national daily newspaper “Der Standard” where she previously served as the foreign editor. She holds an MA in Islamic and Arabic Studies and a PhD in International Relation Studies, with a doctoral thesis on the Iraqi nuclear program. She is a lecturer on modern history and politics of the Middle East at the University of Vienna, and at the Diplomatic Academy of Vienna. In 2006, she was Special Envoy of the Austrian EU Presidency to Iraq and Chargé d’Affaires of the Austrian Embassy in Baghdad. Gudrun Harrer was awarded the prestigious “Bruno Kreisky Award for the political book“ for her publications on the Middle East, among others for “Dismantling the Nuclear Programme: The Inspections of the International Atomic Energy Agency in Iraq 1991-1998” (Routledge 2014) and “Nahöstlicher Irrgarten: Analysen abseits des Mainstreams” (Kremayr & Scheriau 2014). She is member of the board of the Austrian Orient Society (ÖOW) and of the Austrian Institute for International Affairs (OIIP).

Otte_Photo_AB

Ambassador Marc Otte

Ambassador Marc Otte is a Belgian diplomat. He has served in Washington DC and Kinshasa (RDC) and was Consul General in Los Angeles as well as ambassador to Israel. He was also director for strategic affairs and disarmament and director for policy planning at the Belgian MFA. From 1999 to 2003, he was advisor for security and defense policy to the High Representative for EU foreign and security policy and from 2003 to 2011, EU Special Representative for the Middle East Peace Process. From 2013-2017, he was director general of the Royal Institute for International Relations/Egmont. He is currently Belgian Special Envoy for Syria and Vice President of the European Institute for Peace (EIP). He has written numerous articles and contributed to books on European defense and security policy as well as on the Middle East.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Conermann_Photo_AB

Prof. Dr. Stephan Conermann

Prof. Dr. Stephan Conermann ist Leiter der Abteilung Islamwissenschaft des Insti-tuts für Orient- und Asienwissenschaften (IOA) und seit 2003 Professor für Islam-wissenschaft an der Universität Bonn. Er ist außerdem Prorektor für Internati-onales an der Universität Bonn und Gründungsmitglied des Zentrums für Religion und Gesellschaft (ZERG) an der Universität. Mit Forschungsschwerpunkten in – unter anderem – den Feldern ‚Transformationsprozesse innerhalb islamischer Gesellschaften im Zeitalter des europäischen Kolonialismus und Imperialismus‘, ‚muslimische Historiographie und Identifikationsprozesse‘ sowie ‚Islam in Deutsch-land‘ hat er ausführlich zur Geschichte des modernen ‚Orients‘ sowie zu den Beziehungen zwischen Europa und der Region des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens publiziert. Er ist u.a. Herausgeber der Reihen „Bonner Islamstudien“ (BIS), „Bonner Asienstudien“ (BAS), „Bonner islamwissenschaftliche Hefte“ (BiH), „Narratologia Aliena“ und „Mamluk Studies“.

Harrer_Photo_AB

Dr. Gudrun Harrer

Dr. Gudrun Harrer ist leitende Redakteurin der österreichischen Tageszeitung „Der Standard“, wo sie zuvor das Außenpolitikressort geleitet hat. Sie hat Islamwissen-schaften und Arabistik mit einem Magister abgeschlossen und in Politikwissen-schaften mit einer Dissertation über das irakische Atomprogramm promoviert. Gudrun Harrer unterrichtet Moderne Geschichte und Politik des Nahen Ostens an der Universität Wien und an der Diplomatischen Akademie Wien. Für die öster-reichische Regierung war sie 2006, während des EU-Vorsitzes Österreichs, als Sondergesandte und Geschäftsträgerin der Österreichischen Botschaft in Bagdad. 2015 erhielt Gudrun Harrer den „Bruno Kreisky Preis für das politische Buch“ für ihr publizistisches Gesamtwerk, unter anderem für „Dismantling the Iraqi Nuclear Programme“ (Routledge 2014) und „Nahöstlicher Irrgarten. Analysen abseits des Mainstreams“ (Kremayr & Scheriau 2014). Sie ist Vorstandsmitglied der Österreichischen Orient-Gesellschaft (ÖOG) und des Österreichischen Instituts für Internationale Politik (OIIP).

Otte_Photo_AB

Botschafter Marc Otte

Botschafter Marc Otte ist belgischer Diplomat. Sein auswärtiger Dienst führte ihn nach Washington DC und Kinshasa, als Generalkonsul nach Los Angeles sowie als Botschafter nach Tel Aviv. Er war zudem Direktor für Strategie und Abrüstung sowie Direktor für Politikplanung im belgischen Außenministerium. Von 1999 bis 2003 war Botschafter Otte sicherheits- und verteidigungspolitischer Berater des Hohen Repräsentanten für die Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik der EU sowie von 2003 bis 2011 EU-Sonderbeauftragter für den Nahost-Friedensprozess. Von 2013 bis 2017 war er Generaldirektor des Egmont – Royal Institute for Internationale Relations. Derzeit ist er belgischer Sondergesandter für Syrien und Vizepräsident des European Institute for Peace (EIP). Er ist Autor zahlreicher Artikel und Buchbeiträge zur europäischen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik sowie über den Nahen und Mittleren Osten.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email