Screenshot Peace-building-ProjectAcademic Approaches to Peace-building and State-building in Yemen

CARPO is partner in a project on ‘Academic Approaches to Peace-building and State-building in Yemen’ at the University of Bonn, together with the Gender-Development Research & Studies Center at the University of Sanaa. The project is funded by the German Academic Exchange Service in the framework of its Transformation Partnership. The project’s objective is to investigate and support peace-building and state-building initiatives in post-conflict Yemen from an academic perspective and thus a) to support and strengthen the work of practitioners and policy-makers in the country through the provision of expertise; and b) to build the respective expertise in Yemeni and German academia to support and critically accompany a). Outputs of this project will be one workshop, one summer school and one conference per year as well as pertinent policy papers, to be published through CARPO.

Project duration: 2016-2017

Project partners:
Institute for Oriental and Asian Studies at the University of Bonn
Gender-Development Research & Studies Center at the University of Sanaa

Project website

Publications:

Cover Knowledge in Peacebuilding WP final EN

Knowledge in peacebuilding: Elements, production, dissemination

edited by Marie-Christine Heinze and Bilkis Zabara

This publication is the result of a summer school entitled “Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding in Yemen” held in Amman, Jordan, in September 2016, which brought together advanced academics from the University of Bonn and the Gender-Development Research & Studies Center at Sanaa University as well as MA and PhD students from Yemen and Germany. In an exercise over the course of two mornings, the student participants, led by the editors of this paper, developed recommendations for researchers and policy-makers on how best to approach, implement and present research on peacebuilding in societies in conflict. The exercise aimed to achieve two objectives: a) to develop a guide for young researchers, NGOs and policy-makers involved in generating knowledge on and for peace-building processes; and b) to subject the summer school participants to a intercultural / inter-academic writing and learning process in which a German and a Yemeni student teamed up to produce one recommendation. This paper is the result of this exercise.

Download in English or Arabic

CARPO Report 3 - Kambeck

Returning to Transitional Justice in Yemen. A Backgrounder on the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates

by Jens Kambeck

This report focuses on the work of the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates, which was established in the framework of the GCC Initiative. The author argues that if the unity of Yemen is to be preserved, the only path forward is to take concrete and earnest steps to rebuild trust between North and South through transitional justice, once the ongoing war has come to an end. Such a trust-building process can—amongst others—build on the work of the Commission presented here. The report thus concludes with respective recommendations. By Jens Kambeck

view report
p
rinter-friendly version

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Screenshot Peace-building-ProjectAcademic Approaches to Peace-building and State-building in Yemen

CARPO ist Projektpartner in einem vom DAAD im Rahmen der Transformationspartnerschaft geförderten Projekt zu ‚Academic Approaches to Peace-building and State-building in Yemen‘ an der Universität Bonn, gemeinsam mit dem Gender-Development Research & Studies Center an der Universität Sanaa. Ziel des Projektes ist es einen Beitrag zu Friedensförderung und Staatsaufbau im Jemen zu leisten durch a) die Bereitstellung von Expertise für Praktiker und Policy-maker in Friedensförderung  und Staatsaufbau im Jemen; und b) die hierfür notwendige Expertise in der deutschen und jemenitischen Wissenschaft und Forschung aufzubauen. Hierfür sollen die Beziehungen zwischen jemenitischen und deutschen Wissenschaftlern, Doktoranden und Studierenden gestärkt werden. Als konkrete Maßnahmen sind hierfür pro Jahr ein Workshop, eine Summer School und eine Konferenz sowie über CARPO zu publizierende, einschlägige Policy Papers vorgesehen.

Projektlaufzeit: 2016-2017

Projektpartner:
Institut für Orient- und Asienwissenschaften der Universität Bonn
Gender-Development Research & Studies Center der Universität Sanaa

Projektwebsite

Publikationen:

Cover Knowledge in Peacebuilding WP final EN

Knowledge in peacebuilding: Elements, production, dissemination

herausgegeben von Marie-Christine Heinze and Bilkis Zabara

Diese Publikation ist das Resultat einer Summer School mit dem Titel „Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding in Yemen“, welche im Sep-tember 2016 in Amman stattfand und Wissenschaftler der Universität Bonn sowie des Gender-Development Research & Studies Center der Universität Sanaa sowie Master- und Promotionsstudierende aus Deutschland und dem Jemen zusammenbrachte. In einer Übung, die jeweils an zwei Vormittagen stattfand, entwickelten die studentischen Teilnehmer unter Anleitung der Herausgeberinnen dieses Papers Emp-fehlungen für Policy Maker und Forscher für Forschung zu Peace-building in Gesellschaften, die sich aktuell in einem Konflikt befinden. Diese Übung hatte zwei Ziele: a) die Entwicklung eines Leitfadens für junge Forscher sowie für NGOs und Policy Maker, die in die Produktion von Wissen über oder für Peacebuilding involviert sind; und b) die Teilnehmenden der Summer School einem interkulturellen / interaka-demischen Schreib- und Lernprozess auszusetzen, indem jeweils ein/e deutsche/r Studierende/r und ein/e jemenitische/r gemeinsam an einer Empfehlung schrieben. Dieses Paper ist das Ergebnis dieser Übung.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

CARPO Report 3 - Kambeck

Returning to Transitional Justice in Yemen. A Backgrounder on the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates

von Jens Kambeck

Dieser Report fokussiert auf die Arbeit der Kommission zu den Zwangsentlassenen aus den Südlichen Gouvernoraten, welche im Rahmen der Golfkooperationsratsinitiative etabliert wurde. Der Autor argumentiert, dass die Bewahrung der jemenitischen Einheit nur mit konkreten und ernst gemeinten vertrauensbildenden Maßnahmen durch transitional justice nach Beendigung des derzeitigen Krieges erreicht werden kann. Ein solcher Vertrauensbildungsprozess kann unter anderem auf der Arbeit der hier vorgestellten Kommission aufbauen. Der Report endet daher mit entsprechenden Empfehlungen.

zum Report
zur Printversion

Print Friendly, PDF & Email