AF Bas

Şafak Baş

Şafak Baş, M.A., studied Political Science and Near and Middle Eastern Studies at the Ruprecht-Karls University in Heidelberg as well as Persian at the Dekhoda Lexicon Institute in Tehran. After completing his studies, he worked as a policy analyst at the European Stability Initiative in Berlin and Istanbul (2012-2013) and as a freelance journalist in Istanbul and Tehran (2013-2014). Currently, Şafak is a Ph.D. student at the Center for Middle Eastern and North African Politics at the Otto-Suhr Institute of Political Science at Free University Berlin.

More

AF Drhimeur

Lalla Amina Drhimeur

Lalla Amina Drhimeur is currently completing her PhD on the evolution of political Islam in Morocco and Turkey. She defended her Master thesis at L’Institut d’études politiques de Lyon on Turkey’s ambition of becoming a regional power. Her research explores democratization process and power reconfigurations mainly in the Middle East and North Africa. Her previous work was published in Turkish Studies.

More

sarah_foto_thumbnail

Sarah Dusend

Sarah Dusend holds a master in Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science and French Language and Literature from the University of Bonn. She studied Arabic and Persian at the Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO) in Paris as well as Arabic in Damascus. After completing her M.A. she was the coordinator of the Bonn Center for Asian Studies (2009-2013) as well as the Bonn Graduate School for Oriental and Asian Studies (2013-2015). Currently, she is a research fellow at the Department of Islamic Studies and Near East Languages at the Institute of Oriental and Asian Studies (IOA) at the University of Bonn, writing her PhD on three travelogues by Qajar women at the end of the 19th century.

More

al-Rubaidi

Abdulsalam al-Rubaidi

Abdulsalam al-Rubaidi holds a master in Arabic Language and Literature from Sana’a University, Yemen. He is a lecturer at the Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies, Faculty of Education at al-Baydha’ University, Yemen. Currently, he is writing a doctoral thesis on ‘Identity Constructions in Contemporary Yemeni Novels’ at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, in a project funded by the Volkswagen Foundation. Since mid-2017, he has also been working as editor of the Arabic section at al-Madaniya Magazine, a cultural electronic magazine run by the Yemen Polling Center.

More

AF Sons

Sebastian Sons

Sebastian Sons, M.A., studied Islamic Studies, History and Political Sciences in Berlin and Damascus. Prior to that, he trained as journalist in print, TV and radio media at the Berlin School for Journalists (Berliner Journalisten-Schule). After finishing his studies, he worked as Head of Research and Editor-in-Chief of the academic magazine Orient at the German Orient-Institute from 2009-2014 and as a project researcher at the Program Near East and North Africa at the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP) in Berlin. At the moment, he is Associate Fellow at the DGAP and is finishing his Ph.D. thesis on “labor migration from Pakistan to Saudi Arabia”. His book Built on Sand. Saudi Arabia – A Problematic Ally  (in German) was published in November 2016.

More

Andrea_thumbnail

Andrea Warnecke, PhD

Andrea Warnecke has recently completed her PhD at the European University Institute (EUI), Florence, Department of Political and Social Sciences. Her thesis focuses on the evolution of the post-war peacebuilding practices of a range of international development, humanitarian, and peacekeeping organisations over the past two decades. In particular, the thesis accounts for the persistent depoliticization of external peacebuilding practices by analysing the role of international organisations in post-conflict governance as characterised by tensions between impartiality and political agency.

More

AF Wessel

Sarah Wessel

Sarah Wessel recently submitted her PhD thesis The Making of Political Representation: Processes of Claim-Making and Receiving During the Egyptian Transformations (2011-2014) at the University of Hamburg, Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences. Her research explores the political and cultural transformations in the Arab region following the popular mass uprising in 2010/11 with a particular focus on Egypt.

More

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

AF Bas

Şafak Baş

Şafak Baş, M.A., studierte Politikwissenschaft und Islamwissenschaft an der Ruprecht-Karls Universität Heidelberg sowie Persisch am Dekhoda Lexicon Institute in Teheran. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er als Policy Analyst bei der European Stability Initiative in Berlin und Istanbul (2012-2013) und als freiberuflicher Journalist in Istanbul und Teheran (2013-2014). Şafak ist derzeit Doktorand an der Arbeitsstelle Politik im Maghreb, Mashreq und Golf am Otto-Suhr Institut für Politikwissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin.

Mehr

AF Drhimeur

Lalla Amina Drhimeur

Lalla Amina Drhimeur promoviert derzeit zur Entwicklung des politischen Islam in Marokko und der Türkei. Ihre Masterarbeit am Institut d’études politiques de Lyon befasste sich mit den Ambitionen der Türkei, eine regionale Macht zu werden. Sie forscht zu Demokratisierungsprozessen und Neukonfigurationen von Macht, haupt-sächlich im Nahen Osten und in Nordafrika. Ihre bisherige Arbeit wurde u.a. in Turkish Studies veröffentlicht.

Mehr

sarah_foto_thumbnail

Sarah Dusend

Sarah Dusend, M.A., studierte Islamwissenschaft, Politikwissenschaft und Fran-zösische Philologie an der Universität Bonn sowie Arabisch und Persisch am Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales in Paris und Arabisch in Damaskus. Nach ihrem Studium koordinierte sie die Arbeit des Bonner Asien-zentrums (2009-2013) und der Bonn International Graduate School – Oriental and Asian Studies (2013-2015). Derzeit ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Universität Bonn. Ihre Dissertation verfasst sie zu drei Reiseberichten iranischer Frauen vom Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Mehr

AF al-Rubaidi

Abdulsalam al-Rubaidi

Abdulsalam al-Rubaidi hat einen Master in Arabischer Sprache und Literatur der Sana’a University, Jemen. Er ist Dozent an der Fakultät für Arabistik und Islamwis-senschaften der Fakultät für Erziehungswissenschaften der al-Baydha’ University, Jemen. Derzeit schreibt er seine Doktorarbeit zum Thema ‚Identitätskonstruktionen in Zeitgenössischen Jemenitischen Romanen‘ in einem von der Volkswagen Stiftung geförderten Projekt an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Seit Mitte 2017 arbeitet er außerdem als Lektor im arabischen Ressort des al-Madaniya Magazins, einem vom Yemen Polling Center herausgegebenen elektronischen Kulturmagazin.

Mehr

AF Sons

Sebastian Sons

Sebastian Sons, M.A., studierte Islamwissenschaften, Neuere Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft in Berlin und Damaskus und absolvierte eine Ausbildung an der Berliner Journalisten-Schule. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er als wissen-schaftlicher Abteilungsleiter beim Deutschen Orient-Institut und war Chefredakteur der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift Orient (2009-2014). Im Anschluss war er als wissenschaftlicher Projektmitarbeiter im Programm Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Politik (DGAP) in Berlin beschäftigt und ist derzeit dort Associate Fellow. Er promoviert an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zum Thema „Arbeitsmigration von Pakistan nach Saudi-Arabien“. Im November 2016 erschien im Propyläen-Verlag sein politisches Sachbuch Auf Sand gebaut. Saudi-Arabien – Ein Problematischer Verbündeter.

Mehr

AF Stohrer

Dr. Ulrike Stohrer

Ulrike Stohrer, Ethnologin, studierte Ethnologie, Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte, Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaften sowie Musikwissenschaft und Modernes Hocharabisch an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. Zudem absolvierte sie eine klassische Gesangsausbildung am Konservatorium Frankfurt/Main. Ihre Dissertation Barʿa. Rituelle Performance, Identität und Kulturpolitik im Jemen beschäftigt sich mit einem nationalen Kulturgut des Jemen und seiner Bedeutung für tribale und regionale Identitäten sowie seiner Indienstnahme durch staatliche Kulturpolitik. Darüber hinaus arbeitet sie zu materieller Kultur, Wohnhausarchitektur, Kleidung und Konsum sowie zu kulturellen Aneignungsprozessen im Jemen.

Mehr

Andrea_thumbnail

Dr. Andrea Warnecke

Andrea Warnecke hat vor Kurzem ihre Promotion am Department of Political and Social Sciences des Europäischen Hochschulinstituts (EHI), Florenz, abgeschlos-sen. Ihre Promotion untersucht die Entwicklung von Peacebuilding als neues Handlungsfeld für Akteure der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, der humanitären Hilfe und aus dem Peacekeeping-Sektor seit Beginn der 1990er Jahre. Die Studie zeigt auf, dass die fortgesetzte Entpolitisierung – im Sinne einer Unterdrückung des Po-litischen – der Ansätze internationaler Akteure nur im Kontext des Spannungs-feldes der unparteiischen und/oder neutralen Mandate internationaler Organisa-tionen einerseits und der Fortführung fundamentaler politischer Auseinanderset-zungen andererseits zu erklären ist.

Mehr

AF Wessel

Sarah Wessel

Sarah Wessel hat vor Kurzem ihre Dissertation mit dem Titel The Making of Political Representation: Processes of Claim-Making and Receiving During the Egyptian Transformations (2011-2014) an der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozial-wissenschaften der Universität Hamburg eingereicht. In ihrem Dissertationsprojekt setzte sie sich mit den politischen und kulturellen Transformationsprozessen im arabischen Raum mit Schwerpunkt auf Ägypten nach den Aufständen in den Jahren 2010/2011 auseinander. In einer mehrjährigen Feldforschung in Ägypten (2010-15) führte sie zahlreiche Interviews mit Demonstranten, Politikern, Aktivisten und der Zivilbevölkerung.

Mehr

Print Friendly, PDF & Email