marie_foto_thumbnail

Marie-Christine Heinze (President)

Marie-Christine Heinze holds a master in Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, and International and European Law from the University of Bonn and a master in Peace and Security Studies from the University of Hamburg. She successfully completed her PhD thesis on material culture in Yemen in Social Anthropology at the University of Bielefeld in 2015. Since 2008, she has also regularly worked as a consultant on development and political change in Yemen.

Read more

Adnan_thumbnail

Adnan Tabatabai (CEO)

Adnan Tabatabai attained his master’s degree in Middle East Politics at the School of Oriental and African Studies / University of London. He holds an assigned lectureship at the Heinrich-Heine-University of Dusseldorf’s Institute for Social Sciences. As an Iran expert, Tabatabai is consulted by European policymakers and businesses on Iran’s domestic and external affairs. His analysis and commentary is regularly featured in international media. Furthermore Tabatabai has curated multiple publications and events on Iran. He is the author of the German book “Morgen in Iran – die Islamische Republik im Aufbruch” (2016, Edition Körber-Stiftung).

Read more

jan_thumbnail

Jan Hanrath (CEO)

Jan Hanrath, Dipl.-Soz.-Wiss., studied political science, European law and psychology (focus on intercultural communication) at the University Duisburg-Essen. He is Associate Fellow at the Institute for Development and Peace (INEF) in Duisburg and coordinated in the recent years inter alia research and exchange projects with partners in the Middle East.

Read more

AF Sons

Sebastian Sons (Senior Researcher)

Sebastian Sons, M.A., studied Islamic Studies, History and Political Sciences in Berlin and Damascus. Prior to that, he trained as journalist in print, TV and radio media at the Berlin School for Journalists (Berliner Journalisten-Schule). After finishing his studies, he worked as Head of Research and Editor-in-Chief of the academic magazine Orient at the German Orient-Institute from 2009-2014 and as a project researcher at the Program Near East and North Africa at the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP) in Berlin. At the moment, he is Associate Fellow at the DGAP and is finishing his Ph.D. thesis on “labor migration from Pakistan to Saudi Arabia”. His book Built on Sand. Saudi Arabia – A Problematic Ally (in German) was published in November 2016.

More

Julia

Julia Gurol (Researcher)

Julia Gurol studied Political Science, Sociology and Media Studies at the Universities of Düsseldorf, Bonn and Granada (Spain). Currently she teaches at University of Freiburg and writes her dissertation on EU-China security relations in the Middle East. Her areas of expertise are EU-China relations, foreign and security policy, social movements and peace and conflict studies with a regional emphasis on the MENA Region. Before Julia started working as project assistant for CARPO, she has assisted in the project on arms export control at Bonn International Center for Conversion and worked as a freelance journalist.

More

Thomas

Thomas Pietzsch (Executive Assistant)

Thomas Pietzsch is an M.A. student at the Department of Islamic Studies and Near East Languages at the Institute of Oriental and Asian Studies (IOA) at the University in Bonn. Next to his studies, he works as project assistant for the DAAD-funded project on ‘Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding and State building in Yemen’ at the IOA of which CARPO is also a partner. Previously, he worked as a student assistant for a project on Middle Eastern travelogues to Europe and as a teacher of German language for refugee children.

Mirjam

Mirjam Schmidt (Project Assistant)

Mirjam Schmidt studies Asian studies with a focus on religious studies at the University of Bonn after finishing her Bachelor in International Relations at the Rhein Waal University of Applied Science. Earlier she worked as a student assistant at the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung) and is currently a student assistant at the International Office Department “European & International Networks” of the University of Bonn.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

marie_foto_thumbnail

Marie-Christine Heinze (Vorsitzende)

Marie-Christine Heinze studierte Islamwissenschaften, Politikwissenschaften und Völker- und Europarecht an der Universität Bonn und Friedens- und Sicherheits-forschung an der Universität Hamburg. Ihre Dissertation zu materieller Kultur im Jemen im Fachbereich Sozialanthropologie an der Universität Bielefeld schloss sie 2015 erfolgreich ab. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie regelmäßig als Beraterin zu Entwicklung und politischem Wandel im Jemen.

Mehr

Adnan_thumbnail

Adnan Tabatabai (Geschäftsführer)

Adnan Tabatabai absolvierte den Masterstudiengang MSc. Middle East Politics an der School of Oriental and African Studies der University of London. Als Iran-Experte berät Tabatabai europäische Politik und Wirtschaft zur iranischen Innen- und Außenpolitik. Er ist Lehrbeauftragter an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf und Autor des Buches “Morgen in Iran – die Islamische Republik im Aufbruch” (Okt. 2016, Edition Körber-Stiftung).

Mehr

jan_thumbnail

Jan Hanrath (Geschäftsführer)

Jan Hanrath, Dipl.-Soz.-Wiss., studierte Politikwissenschaft, Europarecht und Psychologie (Schwerpunkt Interkulturelle Kommunikation) an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Er ist Associate Fellow am Institut für Entwicklung und Frieden (INEF) in Duisburg und koordinierte in den vergangenen Jahren u.a. Forschungs- und Austauschprojekte mit Partnern im Nahen und Mittleren Osten.

Mehr

AF Sons

Sebastian Sons (Senior Researcher)

Sebastian Sons, M.A., studierte Islamwissenschaften, Neuere Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft in Berlin und Damaskus und absolvierte eine Ausbildung an der Berliner Journalisten-Schule. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er als wissen-schaftlicher Abteilungsleiter beim Deutschen Orient-Institut und war Chefredakteur der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift Orient (2009-2014). Im Anschluss war er als wissenschaftlicher Projektmitarbeiter im Programm Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Politik (DGAP) in Berlin beschäftigt und ist derzeit dort Associate Fellow. Er promoviert an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zum Thema „Arbeitsmigration von Pakistan nach Saudi-Arabien“. Im November 2016 erschien im Propyläen-Verlag sein politisches Sachbuch Auf Sand gebaut. Saudi-Arabien – Ein Problematischer Verbündeter.

Mehr

Julia

Julia Gurol (Researcher)

Julia Gurol studierte Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie und Medienwissenschaft an den Universitäten Düsseldorf, Bonn und Granada (Spanien). Derzeit lehrt und promoviert sie an der Universität Freiburg zu EU-China Sicherheitsbeziehungen in Mittleren Osten. Ihre Interessenschwerpunkte und Expertise liegen auf EU-China Beziehungen, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, sozialen Bewegungen, sowie auf Friedens- und Konfliktforschung mit dem Regionalschwerpunkt Naher und Mittlerer Osten. Vor ihrer Zeit bei CARPO war sie als Aushilfe im Projekt für Rüstungsexportkontrolle am Bonn International Center for Conversion sowie als Journalistin für die WirtschaftsWoche tätig.

Mehr

Thomas

Thomas Pietzsch (Assistent der Geschäftsführung)

Thomas Pietzsch ist Student des Masterschwerpunkts Islamwissenschaft (Iran) der Abteilung Islamwissenschaft und Nahostsprachen am Institut für Orient- und Asienwissenschaften (IOA) der Universität Bonn. Neben seinem Studium arbeitet er als studentische Hilfskraft im DAAD-geförderten Projekt zu ‚Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding and State building in Yemen‘ am IOA, in welchem CARPO ebenfalls Partner ist. Zuvor arbeitete er als studentische Hilfskraft im BMBF-geförderten Projekt zu orientalischen Reiseberichten nach Europa und als DaF-Lehrer für Flüchtlingskinder.

Mirjam

Mirjam Schmidt (Projektassistentin)

Mirjam Schmidt studiert Asienwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Religionswissen-schaft an der Universität Bonn im Master. Zuvor absolvierte sie ihren Bachelor in International Relations an der Hochschule Rhein Waal, Kleve. Sie arbeitete als Stu-dentische Hilfskraft in der Abteilung Grundsatz der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und ist momentan neben dem Studium als Studentische Hilfskraft im Dezernat Internationales – Europäische und Internationale Netzwerke der Univer-sität Bonn tätig.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email