Dr. Marie-Christine Heinze

Dr. Marie-Christine Heinze (President)

Marie-Christine Heinze holds a master in Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, and International and European Law from the University of Bonn and a master in Peace and Security Studies from the University of Hamburg. Her PhD thesis on material culture and socio-political change in Yemen in the field of social anthropology at the University of Bielefeld was successfully completed in 2015. Next to the Yemen-related projects at CARPO, she currently heads an academic exchange project with the University of Sanaa on post-conflict reconstruction in Yemen at the University of Bonn, funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). Since 2008, she has also regularly worked as a consultant on development, peacebuilding and political change in Yemen.


Read more

Adnan Tabatabai

Adnan Tabatabai (CEO)

Adnan Tabatabai obtained his MSc. Middle East Politics at the School of Oriental and African Studies / University of London. As an Iran analyst he is consulted by European policymakers and businesses on Iran related affairs. Through his work at CARPO, Tabatabai has designed and facilitated track 2 and civil-society dialogue formats between Iran and Saudi Arabia since 2015. He is furthermore involved in a variety of projects at CARPO on regional security in the Persian Gulf region. Tabatabai is author of the book “Morgen in Iran” (Oct. 2016, Edition Körber-Stiftung). He is regularly featured in international media with commentary and analysis on developments in Iran and the Middle East.


Read more

Jan Hanrath

Jan Hanrath (CEO)

Jan Hanrath, Dipl.-Soz.-Wiss., studied political science, European law and psychology (focus on intercultural communication) at the University Duisburg-Essen. From 2008 to 2014 he was researcher at the Institute for Development and Peace (INEF) at the University Duisburg-Essen and focussed inter alia on the transport of conflicts in migrations processes as well as on German Middle East policies. Currently he writes his PhD thesis on German public diplomacy in the Middle East. As co-founder and CEO of CARPO he is involved in various projects and coordinates the daily operations at CARPO’s head office. In the past years he has worked as a researcher and coordinator in projects inter alia on Iran-Saudi dialogue, economic development in Yemen, migration and conflict, political transformation in the Middle East, and academic exchange.


Read more

Thomas Pietzsch

Thomas Pietzsch (Executive Assistant)

Thomas Pietzsch is an M.A. student at the Department of Islamic Studies and Near East Languages at the Institute of Oriental and Asian Studies (IOA) at the University in Bonn. Previously, he worked as project assistant for the DAAD-funded project on ‘Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding and State Building in Yemen’ at the IOA of which CARPO is also a partner, as a student assistant for a project on Middle Eastern travelogues to Europe and as a teacher of German language for refugee children.


Read more

Julia Gurol

Julia Gurol (Researcher)

Julia Gurol is a postdoctoral researcher and lecturer at the Chair for International Relations at Freiburg University. Her dissertation dealt with European-Chinese security relations in the Middle East. Julia’s areas of expertise are international/transregionel authoritarian practices, strategic questions of Chinese foreign and security policy, social movements, regime stability and transformation as well as conflict dynamics; her regional foci are China and the Middle East. She has previously worked in a project on arms export control at the Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC). Furthermore, she is a trained crossmedial journalist and has published in several German media, such as WirtschaftsWoche, Handelsblatt and WDR.


Read more

Julia Pickhardt

Julia Pickhardt (Project Manager/Researcher)

Julia Pickhardt joined CARPO in January 2020 as project manager/researcher and works on the Iran-Saudi Dialogue Initiative. Before joining CARPO, Julia worked in the mediation program of swisspeace and supported different mediation initiatives among others in the context of Syria in addition to working on ‘Multitrack Approaches in Peace Processes’. As associated researcher of the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), she currently conducts her PhD on “Peace-making actors’ agency in multitrack peace negotiations”. In the past, she also interned with different organisations such as Geneva Call, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) and the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF).


Read more

Tobias Zumbrägel

Tobias Zumbrägel (Researcher)

Tobias Zumbrägel studied Political Science, Islamic Studies and History at the Universities of Cologne, Tübingen and Cairo (Egypt). He holds a master in the joint program “Comparative & Middle East Politics and Society“ (CMEPS) from the Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen and the American University in Cairo (AUC) (2013-2015). In 2015 he received a Bucerius Pre-Doctoral Grant by the ZEIT foundation and between 2016 and 2020, he was a research associate and PhD candidate at the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg. During this time, he conducted extensive field research in the Arab Gulf States and was a visiting fellow at the Faisal Center for Research and Islamic Studies (KFCRIS) and the Department for Gulf Studies at the Qatar University.


Read more

Mirjam Schmidt

Mirjam Schmidt (Project Officer)

Mirjam Schmidt studies Asian studies with a focus on religious studies at the University of Bonn after finishing her Bachelor in International Relations at the Rhein Waal University of Applied Science. Earlier she worked as a student assistant at the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung) and as student assistant at the International Office Department “European & International Networks” of the University of Bonn.


Read more

Sina Winkel

Sina Winkel (Project Officer)

Sina Winkel studies Geography M.Sc. in Development & Globalization with a focus in Medical Geography at the University of Bonn. During her bachelor’s degree, she dedicated her research to mental health issues in relation to environmental changes and humanitarian aid. In 2019 she completed a full-time internship within the Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) in Kyrgyzstan.


Read more

Dr. Marie-Christine Heinze

Dr. Marie-Christine Heinze (Vorsitzende)

Marie-Christine Heinze hat einen Magister der Islamwissenschaft, Politikwissenschaft und des Völker- und Europarechts von der Universität Bonn und einen Master der Friedens- und Sicherheitsforschung von der Universität Hamburg. Ihre Dissertation zu materieller Kultur und sozio-politischem Wandel im Jemen im Fachbereich Sozialanthropologie der Universität Bielefeld schloss sie 2015 erfolgreich ab. Neben den Projekten mit Jemen-Bezug bei CARPO leitet Marie derzeit u.a. ein akademisches Austauschprojekt mit der Universität Sanaa zu ‚post-conflict reconstruction‘ im Jemen an der Universität Bonn, gefördert vom DAAD. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie außerdem regelmäßig als Beraterin zu Entwicklung, Friedensförderung und politischem Wandel im Jemen.


Mehr

Adnan Tabatabai

Adnan Tabatabai (Geschäftsführer)

Adnan Tabatabai absolvierte seinen Masterstudiengang MSc Middle East Politics an der School of Oriental and African Studies / University of London. Er ist Lehrbeauftragter an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf zur sozial- und politikwissenschaftlichen Betrachtung der Region des Nahen und Mittleren Osten. Als selbständiger Analyst und Iran-Experte berät Adnan Tabatabai seit 2009 Bundesministerien, Bundestag und politische Stiftungen sowie internationale Journalisten und Autoren. Mit der Berliner NGO Media in Cooperation and Transition (MiCT) führt Tabatabai seit 2013 zivilgesellschaftliche Austausch- und Förderprojekte in den Bereichen Medienzusammenarbeit in Nordafrika und Westasien durch.


Mehr

Jan Hanrath

Jan Hanrath (Geschäftsführer)

Jan Hanrath, Dipl.-Soz.-Wiss., studierte Politikwissenschaft, Europarecht und Psychologie (Schwerpunkt Interkulturelle Kommunikation) an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Von 2008 bis 2014 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Entwicklung und Frieden (INEF) an der Universität Duisburg-Essen und widmete sich u.a. dem Transport von Konflikten im Migrationsprozess sowie der deutschen Nahostpolitik. Derzeit promoviert er zur deutschen Public Diplomacy im Nahen Osten. Als Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer von CARPO ist er in zahlreichen Projekten involviert und koordiniert den laufenden Betrieb der Organisation. In den vergangenen Jahren arbeitete er als Forscher und Koordinator in Projekten u.a. zu Iranisch-Saudischem Dialog, wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung im Jemen, Migration und Konflikten, politischer Transformation im Nahen Osten und akademischem Austausch.


Mehr

Thomas Pietzsch

Thomas Pietzsch (Assistent der Geschäftsführung)

Thomas Pietzsch ist Student des Masterschwerpunkts Islamwissenschaft (Iran) der Abteilung Islamwissenschaft und Nahostsprachen am Institut für Orient- und Asienwissenschaften (IOA) der Universität Bonn. Zuvor arbeitete er als studentische Hilfskraft im DAAD-geförderten Projekt zu ‚Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding and State Building in Yemen‘ am IOA, in welchem CARPO ebenfalls Partner ist sowie im BMBF-geförderten Projekt zu orientalischen Reiseberichten nach Europa und als DaF-Lehrer für Flüchtlingskinder.


Mehr

Julia Gurol

Julia Gurol (Researcher)

Julia Gurol ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (postdoc) und Dozentin an der Professur für Internationale Beziehungen der Universität Freiburg. In ihrer Dissertation befasste sie sich mit EU-China Sicherheitsbeziehungen im Nahen Osten. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind internationale/transregionale autoritäre Praktiken, strategische Fragen chinesischer Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, Praktiken, soziale Bewegungen, Regimestabilität sowie Konfliktdynamiken. Ihre regionalen Schwerpunkte sind die Volksrepublik China sowie der Nahe Osten. Feldforschungsaufenthalte führten sie nach Kolumbien, Palästina, in den Libanon sowie nach China. Vor ihrer Zeit bei der Universität Freiburg und CARPO war sie in einem Projekt für Rüstungsexportkontrolle am Bonn International Center for Conversion sowie als freie Journalistin tätig.


Mehr

Julia Pickhardt

Julia Pickhardt (Project Manager/Researcher)

Julia Pickhardt arbeitet seit Januar 2020 als Projektmanagerin/Researcherin bei CARPO zum Iran-Saudi Dialog. Zuvor arbeitete sie im Mediationsprogram von swisspeace zu unterschiedlichen Mediationsinitiativen unter anderem im Kontext von Syrien sowie zu ‚Multitrack Approaches in Peace Processes‘. Als assoziierte Forscherin der Hessischen Stiftung für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung (HSFK) forscht sie an ihrem Promotionsvorhaben zu „Peace-making Actors‘ Agency in Multitrack Peace Negotiations“. In der Vergangenheit absolvierte sie Praktika bei verschiedenen Organisationen wie Geneva Call, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) sowie Hessische Stiftung für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung.


Mehr

Tobias Zumbrägel

Tobias Zumbrägel (Researcher)

Tobias Zumbrägel absolvierte ein Studium der Islamwissenschaften und Geschichte an der Universität zu Köln (2009-2013). Anschließend studierte er Politikwissenschaften im Joint-Master Programm “Comparative & Middle East Politics and Society“ (CMEPS) an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen und der Amerikanischen Universität Kairo (2013-2015). Von 2015 bis 2016 war er Stipendiat der ZEIT-Stiftung und von 2016 bis 2020 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Promovend am Institut für Politische Wissenschaft, Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). Während dieser Zeit unternahm Zumbrägel verschiedene Feldforschungsaufenthalte in den Ländern der arabischen Halbinsel und war unter anderem Visiting Fellow am Faisal Center for Research and Islamic Studies (KFCRIS) und am Department for Gulf Studies at the Qatar University.


Mehr

Mirjam Schmidt

Mirjam Schmidt (Project Officer)

Mirjam Schmidt studiert Asienwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Religionswissenschaft an der Universität Bonn im Master. Zuvor absolvierte sie ihren Bachelor in International Relations an der Hochschule Rhein Waal, Kleve. Sie arbeitete als Studentische Hilfskraft in der Abteilung Grundsatz der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und als Studentische Hilfskraft im Dezernat Internationales – Europäische und Internationale Netzwerke der Universität Bonn.


Mehr

Sina Winkel

Sina Winkel (Project Officer)

Sina Winkel studiert Geographie M.Sc. im Bereich Entwicklung & Globalisierung mit Schwerpunkt innerhalb der Medizinischen Geographie an der Universität Bonn. Bereits in ihrem Bachelor hat sie sich mit Fragestellungen der mentalen Gesundheit in Bezug auf Umweltveränderungen und humanitäre Hilfe auseinandergesetzt. Sie absolvierte im Jahr 2019 ein Vollzeitpraktikum innerhalb der Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in Kirgistan.


Mehr