Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

07: Turning Interdependence into Complementary Action: EU-China Relations and the Quest to Save the Nuclear Agreement

by Julia Gurol & Parisa Shahmohammadi

This policy report lays out what the role of China could be in the quest to safeguard the JCPOA. It outlines the viewpoints of Brussels and Beijing, and sketches converging and diverging interests and their influence on respective policy choices. It assesses two scenarios for the future of the JCPOA and puts forward the argument that despite deepening political constraints (e.g. normative differences, systemic challenges and increasing mistrust), there is a need for complementary action between the E3 countries and China with regard to the JCPOA.

view report
printer-friendly version

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

06: Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen. Needs and Roles for Civil Society, Women, Youth, the Media and the Private Sector

by Mareike Transfeld & Marie-Christine Heinze

This CARPO Report serves as a background paper to five short studies Yemeni-international researcher tandems will develop in the course of 2019. It places a particular focus on ‘peace requirements’, a term that seeks to draw attention to the manifold challenges to establishing stability and building peace in Yemen and the resulting efforts which will be required. In laying out these peace requirements, the Report focuses on the following relevant sectors: economy, politics, culture and society, security and justice, education, and environment. In a last step, it takes a look at the challenges to and capacities of five different actor groups in Yemen to address these needs: civil society, women, youth, the media and the private sector.

view report in English or Arabic
printer-friendly version in English or Arabic

CARPO Report 05 - Zurück in den Krisenmodus

05: Back to Crisis Mode. Iran’s Quest to Manage Internal Crises and External Pressures [in German]

by Adnan Tabatabai

This report is dedicated to an analytical discussion about how the ongoing crisis surrounding the nuclear agreement between the E3/EU+3 and Iran is affecting the foreign policy conduct of the Islamic Republic, its internal power balance, as well as the future of state-society relations in Iran. This is the German translation of the original version, which was published by the Istituto Affari Internazionali (IAI) in cooperation with the Foundation for European Progressive Studies (FEPS).

view report
printer-friendly version

Report 04 - Heinze

04: Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen. Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention During and Post-Conflict

edited by Marie-Christine Heinze

This report is the result of a conference with the same name, which was jointly organized by CARPO and the Regional Office Gulf States of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) at the Dead Sea in April 2017. The papers by prolific experts on Yemen included in this publication discuss the changes, obstacles and limits for successful security sector reform in Yemen during and after the conflict and offer respective recommendations for national and international policy-makers in the field.

view report
printer-friendly version

CARPO Report 3 - Kambeck

03: Returning to Transitional Justice in Yemen. A Backgrounder on the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates

by Jens Kambeck

This report focuses on the work of the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates, which was established in the framework of the GCC Initiative. The author argues that if the unity of Yemen is to be preserved, the only path forward is to take concrete and earnest steps to rebuild trust between North and South through transitional justice, once the ongoing war has come to an end. Such a trust-building process can—amongst others—build on the work of the Commission presented here. The report thus concludes with respective recommendations. By Jens Kambeck

view report
p
rinter-friendly version

CARPO Report 2 - Tabatabai

02: Iran Votes. A Primer to the Elections of Parliament and the Assembly of Experts

by Adnan Tabatabai

The twin elections of 26 February 2016 are the first to be held after the nuclear agreement between Iran and P5+1 has been signed. This report sheds light on the current political climate in Iran and presents analytical criteria to apprehend both the interplay between parliament and government, as well as the key tasks for the Assembly of Experts. The main electoral contenders and parties are then introduced before the author provides insights on how senior officials view these dual elections. It concludes by highlighting the electorate’s key demands and by presenting a set of parameters to look into the upcoming months.

view report
printer-friendly version

CARPO Report 1 - Heinze

01: Yemen. Actors, Factors, Scenarios [in German]

by Marie-Christine Heinze

Three years after nation-wide protests forced Yemen’s President Ali Abdallah Salih to step down, the country is in a highly volatile state. Numerous, largely armed actors fight for the advancement of their strategic interests while Houthi militias increasingly block the efforts of the newly elected government in the capital city Sanaa. Regional and international actors are also relevant for the political developments of the past three years and those of the future. This report offers an overview of the current context, the most important actors as well as relevant factors for future developments in Yemen. Three possible scenarios for the next 1-2 years are elaborated and options for German development agencies are proposed. Available only in German.

view report
p
rinter-friendly version

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Turning Interdependence into Complementary Action

Turning Interdependence into Complementary Action

by Julia Gurol & Parisa Shahmohammadi

Dieser CARPO Report zeigt auf, welche Rolle China für die Zukunft des Nuklearabkommens mit Iran spielen könnte. Er analysiert, welche Interessen Chinas und der EU im Bezug auf JCPOA sich überlappen und welche zu Spannungen führen und entwickelt auf dieser Basis zwei Zukunftsszenarien für das Abkommen. Die Autorinnen argumentieren, dass China und die EU trotz sich vertiefender politischer Spannungen (z.B. normative Differenzen, systemische Rivalitäten und gegenseitiges Misstrauen), im Bezug auf das Iranabkommen komplementär zusammenarbeiten könnten und entwickelt dazu konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion


Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

von Mareike Transfeld & Marie-Christine Heinze

Dieser CARPO Report dient als Hintergrundpapier für fünf Kurzstudien, die im Laufe des Jahres 2019 von jemenitisch-internationalen Forschungstandems entwickelt werden sollen. Er legt einen besonderen Fokus auf ‚Friedensbedarfe‘, ein Begriff, der auf die zahlreichen Herausforderungen bei der Herstellung von Stabilität und in der Friedensförderung – und die hierfür notwendigen Bemühungen – verweisen soll. Bei der Beschreibung dieser Friedensbedarfe fokussiert der CARPO Report auf die folgenden relevanten Sektoren: Wirtschaft, Politk, Kultur und Gesellschaft, Sicherheit und Recht, Bildung sowie Umwelt. In einem letzten Schritt geht er auf die Herausforderungen und Kapazitäten fünf verschiedener Akteursgruppen in der Bearbeitung dieser Friedensbedarfe ein: Zivilgesellschaft, Frauen, Jugend, die Medien und der Privatsektor.

zum CARPO Report auf Englisch oder Arabisch
zur Printversion auf Englisch oder Arabisch


Zurück in den Krisenmodus. Iran im Angesicht Innenpolitischer Herausforderungen und Außenpolitischen Drucks

Zurück in den Krisenmodus. Iran im Angesicht Innenpolitischer Herausforderungen und Außenpolitischen Drucks

von Adnan Tabatabai

Dieser CARPO Report analysiert die Auswirkungen der Krise um das Nuklearabkommen zwischen den E3/EU+3 und Iran auf die außenpolitische Linie der Islamischen Republik, die innenpolitische Machtbalance, sowie auf die Zukunft des Staats- und Gesellschaftsverhältnis in Iran. Der CARPO Report ist die deutschsprachige Übersetzung der Originalversion „Back to Crisis Mode – Iran’s Quest to Manage Internal Crises and External Pressures“, welche über das Istituto Affari Internazionali (IAI) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Foundation for European Progressive Studies (FEPS) veröffentlicht wurde.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion


Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen. Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention During and Post-Conflict

Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen. Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention During and Post-Conflict

herausgegeben von Marie-Christine Heinze

Dieser CARPO Report ist das Resultat einer gemeinsam von CARPO und dem Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) implementierten, gleichnamigen Konferenz am Toten Meer im April 2017. Die hierin enthaltenen Beiträge herausragender Jemen-Expert*Innen diskutieren die Chancen, Herausforderungen und Grenzen für eine erfolgreiche Reform des jemenitischen Sicherheitssektors während des Konfliktes und nach dessen Beendigung und geben entsprechende Empfehlungen an nationale und internationale Policy-makers in diesem Bereich.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion


Returning to Transitional Justice in Yemen. A Backgrounder on the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates

Returning to Transitional Justice in Yemen. A Backgrounder on the Commission on the Forcibly Retired in the Southern Governorates

von Jens Kambeck

Dieser CARPO Report fokussiert auf die Arbeit der Kommission zu den Zwangsentlassenen aus den Südlichen Gouvernoraten, welche im Rahmen der Golfkooperationsratsinitiative etabliert wurde. Der Autor argumentiert, dass die Bewahrung der jemenitischen Einheit nur mit konkreten und ernst gemeinten vertrauensbildenden Maßnahmen durch transitional justice nach Beendigung des derzeitigen Krieges erreicht werden kann. Ein solcher Vertrauensbildungsprozess kann unter anderem auf der Arbeit der hier vorgestellten Kommission aufbauen. Der CARPO Report endet daher mit entsprechenden Empfehlungen.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion


Iran Votes. A Primer to the Elections of Parliament and the Assembly of Experts

Iran Votes. A Primer to the Elections of Parliament and the Assembly of Experts

von Adnan Tabatabai

Die Doppelwahlen vom 26. Februar 2016 sind der erste Urnengang in Iran nach Abschluss  des Nuklearabkommens zwischen dem Iran und den P5+1. Dieser Report beleuchtet das aktuelle politische Klima in Iran und analysiert sowohl das Zusammenspiel zwischen dem Parlament und der Regierung, als auch die Kernkompetenzen des Expertenrates. Die wichtigsten Akteure und Parteien der Wahl werden vorgestellt und ein Einblick darin gewährt, wie die Wahlen von ranghohen iranischen Offiziellen betrachtet werden. Abschließend werden die zentralen Forderungen der Wähler und einige weitere Parameter aufgezeigt, die für die Entwicklungen der kommenden Monate entscheidend sein werden.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion


Jemen. Akteure, Faktoren, Szenarien

Jemen. Akteure, Faktoren, Szenarien

von Marie-Christine Heinze

Drei Jahre nach dem durch die Proteste von 2011 erzwungenen Rücktritt Ali Abdallah Salihs befindet sich der Jemen in einer höchst volatilen Situation. Zahlreiche, größtenteils bewaffnete Akteure kämpfen um die Durchsetzung ihrer strategischen Interessen und Huthi-Milizen blockieren zunehmend die Arbeit der gerade erst neu gewählten Regierung in der Hauptstadt Sanaa. Für die politische Entwicklung der vergangenen drei Jahre ebenso wie für die zukünftige sind jedoch auch regionale und internationale Akteure relevant. In diesem CARPO Report werden der derzeitige Kontext, die wichtigsten Akteure und relevante Faktoren für die zukünftige Entwicklung des Jemen erörtert. Drei mögliche Szenarien für die kommenden 1-2 Jahre werden entwickelt und Handlungsoptionen für die deutsche EZ vorgestellt.

zum CARPO Report
zur Printversion