Logo giz Yemen ResearchThis project seeks to develop the capacities of Yemeni and international researchers and organizations in researching and advising on peacebuilding in Yemen. In its framework, an introductory paper on peace requirements in Yemen as well as five policy briefs, each resulting from a Yemeni-international research partnership, on the role of the following actors in peacebuilding in Yemen will be developed and published: civil society, women, youth, media and the private sector. This project is implemented on behalf of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

Project duration: February 2019 – February 2020

Project team: Marie-Christine Heinze (contact person), Mareike Transfeld

Publications:

bild

The Role of Women in Peacebuilding in Yemen

by Iman al-Gawfi, Bilkis Zabara and Stacey Philbrick Yadav

Yemeni women are laying foundations for sustainable peace through everyday practices that have the capacity to help transform the landscape of women’s rights in the post-war period. Wider recognition of women’s paid and unpaid work in wartime, and the conditions that enable it, could improve the social cohesion, economic stability, and human security necessary for sustainable peace. Based on research conducted in the summer and fall of 2019, this Brief reviews variations in women’s experience of conflict and participation in everyday peacebuilding in different parts of the country, advocates for an entitlement-based approach that recognizes women’s agency, supports women’s diverse aims, and works to leverage their existing contributions in support of sustainable peace.

view brief in English or Arabic
printer-friendly version in English or Arabic

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen. Needs and Roles for Civil Society, Women, Youth, the Media and the Private Sector

by Mareike Transfeld & Marie-Christine Heinze

This CARPO Report serves as a background paper to five short studies Yemeni-international researcher tandems will develop in the course of 2019. It places a particular focus on ‘peace requirements’, a term that seeks to draw attention to the manifold challenges to establishing stability and building peace in Yemen and the resulting efforts which will be required. In laying out these peace requirements, the Report focuses on the following relevant sectors: economy, politics, culture and society, security and justice, education, and environment. In a last step, it takes a look at the challenges to and capacities of five different actor groups in Yemen to address these needs: civil society, women, youth, the media and the private sector.

view report in English or Arabic
printer-friendly version in English or Arabic

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Logo giz Yemen ResearchDieses Projekt soll die Kapazitäten jemenitischer und internationaler Forscher*innen und Organisationen bei der Forschung und Beratung zum Thema Friedensförderung im Jemen entwickeln und stärken. Im Rahmen dessen sollen ein Einleitungspapier zu Friedensbedarfen im Jemen sowie fünf tiefergehende Kurzstudien, jeweils resultierend aus einer jemenitisch-internationalen Forschungspartnerschaft, zur Rolle folgender Akteursgruppen in der Friedensförderung im Jemen erarbeitet und publiziert werden: Zivilgesellschaft, Frauen, Jugendliche, Medien und Privatwirtschaft. Dieses Projekt wird im Auftrag der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH durchgeführt.

Projektlaufzeit: Februar 2019 – Februar 2020

Projektteam: Marie-Christine Heinze, Mareike Transfeld

Publikationen:

bild

The Role of Women in Peacebuilding in Yemen

von Iman al-Gawfi, Bilkis Zabara and Stacey Philbrick Yadav

Jemenitische Frauen bereiten die Grundlagen für nachhaltigen Frieden durch alltägliche Praktiken, die auch dazu beitragen können, die Landschaft der Frauenrechte in der Nachkriegsperiode zu verändern. Eine breitere Anerkennung der bezahlten und unbezahlten Arbeit von Frauen in Zeiten des Krieges – und der Umstände, die dies ermöglichen – können sozialen Zusammenhalt, ökonomische Stabilität und die für Frieden notwendige menschliche Sicherheit stärken. Auf Basis von im Sommer und Herbst 2019 durchgeführter Forschung nimmt dieser Brief Variationen weiblicher Erfahrungen von Konflikt und Teilnahme an alltäglicher Friedensförderung in verschiedenen Landesteilen in den Blick; plädiert für einen Anspruchs-basierten Zugang, der die Agency von Frauen anerkennt; unterstützt die diversen Ziele von Frauen; und will ihren realexistierenden Beiträgen zu nachhaltigem Frieden zu Anerkennung und Durchbruch verhelfen.

zum Brief auf Englisch oder Arabisch
zur Printversion auf Englisch oder Arabisch

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen

Understanding Peace Requirements in Yemen. Needs and Roles for Civil Society, Women, Youth, the Media and the Private Sector

von Mareike Transfeld & Marie-Christine Heinze

Dieser CARPO Report dient als Hintergrundpapier für fünf Kurzstudien, die im Laufe des Jahres 2019 von jemenitisch-internationalen Forschungstandems entwickelt werden sollen. Er legt einen besonderen Fokus auf ‚Friedensbedarfe‘, ein Begriff, der auf die zahlreichen Herausforderungen bei der Herstellung von Stabilität und in der Friedensförderung – und die hierfür notwendigen Bemühungen – verweisen soll. Bei der Beschreibung dieser Friedensbedarfe fokussiert der Report auf die folgenden relevanten Sektoren: Wirtschaft, Politk, Kultur und Gesellschaft, Sicherheit und Recht, Bildung sowie Umwelt. In einem letzten Schritt geht er auf die Herausforderungen und Kapazitäten fünf verschiedener Akteursgruppen in der Bearbeitung dieser Friedensbedarfe ein: Zivilgesellschaft, Frauen, Jugend, die Medien und der Privatsektor.

zum Report auf Englisch oder Arabisch
zur Printversion auf Englisch oder Arabisch

Print Friendly, PDF & Email