bild

Corruption in Yemen’s War Economy

This brief, which is based on a more extensive White Paper, assesses the multifaceted pervasiveness of corruption in Yemen. It is demonstrated, amongst others, that patronage networks are now emerging among previously marginal or unknown figures and that the financial involvement of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates has extended patronage across national borders. It is argued that any anti-corruption agenda must aim to understand the complex configuration of patronage networks in Yemen, to be introduced gradually, and to get the buy-in of as wide a group of Yemenis as possible.

Download the brief in English or Arabic
Download the White Paper in English or Arabic

bild

Generating New Employment Opportunities in Yemen

This brief brings forward crucial recommendations to address Yemen’s worsening economic and humanitarian crises. These recommendations result from the third Development Champions Forum, which took place in Amman, Jordan, between 14–16 July 2018 as part of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative. Amongst others, the Development Champions recommend that policy makers seek to create jobs by investing in sectors that have historically been neglected in favor of oil and gas activities. This includes investing in agriculture, developing the fishing industry, expanding mining operations, and linking reconstruction efforts to the local construction sector. In the medium term, policy makers should look to new initiatives, such as constructing a free zone on the Yemen-Saudi border.

Download the brief in English or Arabic

bild

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

This brief, which is based on a more extensive White Paper, assesses the factors weighing on private sector development in Yemen. It lays out the impacts of the 2011 uprising in Yemen, the ensuing political crisis and the current conflict on the economy and the private sector. Following this, recommendations are offered to both the Yemeni government and international stakeholders regarding steps that can be taken to revive and develop the private sector post conflict.

Download the brief in English or Arabic
Download the White Paper in English or Arabic

bild

Challenges for Yemen’s Local Governance Amid Conflict

The brief deals with the role of local councils in Yemen and analyses their current situation. In the absence of central state authority and despite all the challenges they face, these councils remain important instruments for coordinating humanitarian relief efforts and local-level conflict mediation. Local councils are among the best-equipped and best-established institutions to support a shift away from the previous centralized model. Thus the brief concludes that it is imperative that local, regional and international actors seek not merely to keep local governance structures from collapse but to enhance the capacities of local councils in post-conflict scenarios.

Download in English or Arabic
Download the White Paper in English or Arabic

bild

An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction in Yemen

This brief proposes an institutional structure for a future reconstruction process in Yemen: a permanent, independent, public reconstruction authority that empowers and coordinates the work of local reconstruction offices, established at the local level in areas affected by conflict or natural disasters. This proposal does not arise only from lessons learned from previous reconstruction efforts in Yemen, but also from the immediate need for such an institution to begin planning and implementing reconstruction work to the greatest extent possible.

Download in English or Arabic
Download the White Paper in English or Arabic

bild

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

This brief brings forward recommendations to enhance the effectiveness of the humanitarian response in Yemen. These recommendations result from the second Development Champions Forum, which took place in Amman, Jordan, between 14–16 January 2018 as part of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative. Among the key topics of discussion among the Development Champions were the need for international humanitarian actors to increase their coordination with local authorities, civil society actors, and the Yemeni private sector; the importance of decentralizing the humanitarian response; and the importance of prioritizing assistance to the most vulnerable members of Yemeni society.

Download in English or Arabic

Cover RYE Policy Brief 2

International Organizations and the Yemeni Private Sector

This brief addresses the role of the Yemeni private sector in mitigating the humanitarian crisis in Yemen as well as its relationship to international humanitarian organizations. It finds that a large number of Yemeni business owners have been engaged in trying to alleviate the suffering of Yemenis out of their own volition, but also in service of and cooperation with international humanitarian agencies. Despite this successful cooperation relationship, this brief also finds that there remains significant room for improvement particularly what communication and coordination measures are concerned. To this end, it is recommended – amongst others – that international humanitarian actors form a joint coordination platform with the Yemeni private sector, local authorities and civil society.

Download in English or Arabic

bild

Restoring Central Bank Capacity and Stabilizing the Rial

This brief brings forward crucial recommendations to address Yemen’s current challenges in the financial sector. These recommendations result from the second Development Champions Forum, which took place in Amman, Jordan, between 14–16 January 2018 as part of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative. Here, among the urgent topics of discussion was the deterioration of the value of the Yemeni rial (YR), the magnifying impact this is having on the humanitarian crisis, and the need to re-empower the Central Bank of Yemen (CBY) as the steward of the rial and the economy in general. The recommendations collectively underline the need for the CBY to function in a more coherent, assertive manner – whereby its various branches operate as a united bank that is able to draft and implement economic and monetary policies for Yemen as a whole.

Download in English or Arabic

Cover Knowledge in Peacebuilding WP final EN

Knowledge in Peacebuilding: Elements, Production, Dissemination

edited by Marie-Christine Heinze and Bilkis Zabara

This publication is the result of a summer school entitled “Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding in Yemen” held in Amman, Jordan, in September 2016, which brought together advanced academics from the University of Bonn and the Gender-Development Research & Studies Center at Sanaa University as well as MA and PhD students from Yemen and Germany. In an exercise over the course of two mornings, the student participants, led by the editors of this paper, developed recommendations for researchers and policy-makers on how best to approach, implement and present research on peacebuilding in societies in conflict. The exercise aimed to achieve two objectives: a) to develop a guide for young researchers, NGOs and policy-makers involved in generating knowledge on and for peace-building processes; and b) to subject the summer school participants to a intercultural / inter-academic writing and learning process in which a German and a Yemeni student teamed up to produce one recommendation. This paper is the result of this exercise.

Download in English or Arabic

Cover Adressing Yemen’s Most Critical Challenges

Adressing Yemen’s Most Critical Challenges. Practical Short-term Recommendations

This brief summarizes the short-term recommendations to address Yemen’s current most critical challenges in development and economy which resulted from the first Development Champions Forum. This Forum took place in Amman, Jordan, between April 29 and May 1, 2017 as part of the “Rethinking Yemen’s Economy” initiative. The challenges addressed in this brief were identified within three main, if overlapping, categories: the food security crisis, the problems faced by the banking industry, and the collapse of basic service delivery.

Download in English or Arabic

Cover Women nowadays do anything

“Women Nowadays Do Anything.” Women’s Role in Conflict, Peace and Security in Yemen

by Marie-Christine Heinze and Marwa Baabbad

This study brings together the findings of qualitative research conducted in Ibb and Aden by the Yemen Polling Center (YPC) in cooperation with CARPO and Saferworld. It looks at the impact of the war on women and their families in these two regions, particularly in terms of security-related issues, and the roles women play or have played in the conflict as well as in the building of security and peace.

Download

Saferworld 1

Women’s Role in Peace and Security in Yemen. Literature Review

by Marie-Christine Heinze

This literature review provides an overview of women’s interactions with peacebuilding efforts in Yemen, in view to informing current strategies on how to enhance their role. In doing so, it considers questions in regard to women’s political participation in the past; the impact of conflict on women’s lives; the social norms governing women’s activism; and examples of women’s involvement in peacebuilding processes.

Download

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

bild

Generating New Employment Opportunities in Yemen

Dieser Brief enthält einschlägige Handlungsempfehlungen im Hinblick auf Jemens zunehmende ökonomische und humanitäre Krisen. Diese Empfehlungen resultieren aus dem dritten Development Champions Forum, welches vom 14.–16. Juli 2018 in Amman, Jordanien, im Rahmen der ‚Rethinking Yemen’s Economy‘-Initiative stattfand. Unter anderem empfehlen die Development Champions zur Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen Investitionen in Branchen, die in der Vergangenheit zu-gunsten des Öl- und Gassektors vernachlässigt wurden. Hierzu zählen unter anderem die Landwirtschaft, der Fischfang, der Ausbau des Bergbaus und die zielgerichtete Verknüpfung von Wiederaufbau-maßnahmen mit dem lokalen Baugewerbe. Mittelfristig sollten auch neue Initiativen in Angriff genommen werden, wie z.B. den Aufbau einer Freihandelszone an der jemenitisch-saudischen Grenze.

Download des Briefs auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

Private Sector Engagement in Post-Conflict Yemen

Dieser Brief, der auf einem ausführlicheren White Paper basiert, unter-sucht die der Entwicklung des Privatsektors im Jemen zugrunde-liegenden Faktoren. Er zeichnet die Einflüsse des Umbruchs von 2011, der anschließenden politischen Krise und des gegenwärtigen Konflikts auf die Wirtschaft und den Privatsektor nach und unterbreitet der jemenitischen Regierung und internationalen Stakeholdern Empfeh-lungen für die Wiederbelebung des Privatsektors nach Beendigung des Konflikts.

Download des Briefs auf Englisch oder Arabisch
Download des White Papers auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

Challenges for Yemen’s Local Governance Amid Conflict

Der Brief beschäftigt sich mit der Rolle der Gemeinderäte (Local Councils) in Jemen und analysiert deren aktuelle Situation. Angesichts einer fehlenden zentralen staatlichen Autorität und aller Schwierigkeiten zum Trotz, sind diese Räte wichtig für die Koordinierung humanitärer Hilfsmaßnahmen sowie für die Konfliktmediation auf lokaler Ebene. Local Councils gehören zu den bestausgerüsteten und etabliertesten Institutionen, um eine Abkehr vom bisherigen zentralistischen Modell zu unterstützen. Entsprechend sollten lokale, regionale und internationale Akteure nicht nur versuchen, einen Zusammenbruch der lokalen Governance-Strukturen zu verhindern, sondern auch auf eine Stärkung der Kapazitäten von Kommunalverwaltungen in Post-Konflikt-Szenarien hinarbeiten.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch
Download des White Papers auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

An Institutional Framework for Post-Conflict Reconstruction in Yemen

Dieser Brief unterbreitet Empfehlungen zum Aufbau einer institutio-nellen Struktur für den zukünftigen Wiederaufbauprozess im Jemen: eine dauerhafte und unabhängige öffentliche Wiederaufbaubehörde, welche die Arbeit lokaler Wiederaufbaubüros in solchen Gegenden unterstützt und koordiniert, die von Konflikt und/oder Naturkatastro-phen betroffen sind. Dieser Vorschlag basiert nicht nur auf den Lessons Learned aus vorangegangenen Wiederaufbauprozessen im Jemen, sondern auch auf der dringenden Notwendigkeit des Beginns von Planungen für und der Umsetzung von Wiederaufbaumaßnahmen in Gegenden, die nicht (mehr) direkt vom Konfliktgeschehen betroffen sind.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch
Download des White Papers auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

Increasing the Effectiveness of the Humanitarian Response in Yemen

Dieser Brief enthält Handlungsempfehlungen zur Verbesserung der Ef-fektivität humanitärer Bemühungen im Jemen. Diese Empfehlungen resultieren aus dem zweiten Development Champions Forum, welches vom 14.–16. Januar 2018 in Amman, Jordanien, im Rahmen der ‚Re-thinking Yemen’s Economy‘-Initiative stattfand. Die Development Champions diskutierten hier u.a. die Notwendigkeit der verbesserten Koordination internationaler humanitärer Akteure mit lokalen Behörden, Zivilgesellschaft und dem Privatsektor; die Bedeutung einer De-zentralisierung humanitärer Bemühungen; sowie das Erfordernis der prioritären Verteilung von Unterstützungsleistungen an die schwächs-ten Mitglieder der jemenitischen Gesellschaft.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

International Organizations and the Yemeni Private Sector

Dieser Brief untersucht die Rolle des jemenitischen Privatsektors in den Bemühungen um eine Verbesserung der humanitären Lage im Jemen sowie dessen Beziehungen zu internationalen humanitären Orga-nisationen. Er kommt zu dem Resultat, dass sich eine große Anzahl an Akteuren im jemenitischen Privatsektor aus eigenen Antrieb für eine Reduzierung des Leidens der Bevölkerung engagiert und ebenso auch zusammen mit und für internationale humanitäre Organisationen ar-beitet. Trotz dieser erfolgreichen Kooperation argumentiert dieser Brief, dass viel Raum für eine weitere Verbesserung der Kommunikation und Koordination zwischen Privatsektor und humanitärem Sektor besteht. Es wird daher unter anderem empfohlen, dass internationale humanitäre Akteure eine gemeinsame Koordinationsplattform mit dem jeme-nitischen Privatsektor, lokalen Institutionen und der Zivilgesellschaft einrichten.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

bild

Restoring Central Bank Capacity and Stabilizing the Rial

Dieser Brief enthält einschlägige Handlungsempfehlungen für Interventionen im jemenitischen Finanzsektor. Diese Empfehlungen resultieren aus dem zweiten Development Champions Forum, welches vom 14.–16. Januar 2018 in Amman, Jordanien, im Rahmen der ‚Rethinking Yemen’s Economy‘-Initiative stattfand. Hier wurden u.a. der Wertverlust des jemenitischen Rial (YR) und dessen Auswirkungen auf die humanitäre Krise sowie das dringende Erfordernis der Ermächtigung der Zentralbank als wichtige Ordnungsmacht im Finanz- und Wirtschaftssektor als vordringliche Themen diskutiert. Die hieraus resultierenden Empfehlungen unterstreichen die Notwendigkeit des Fokus‘ auf eine Zentralbank, die derzeit nur rudimentär funktioniert, deren kohärente Handlungs- und Durchsetzungsfähigkeit im aktuellen Kontext jedoch essentiell wäre.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

Cover Knowledge in Peacebuilding WP final EN

Knowledge in Peacebuilding: Elements, Production, Dissemination

herausgegeben von Marie-Christine Heinze and Bilkis Zabara

Diese Publikation ist das Resultat einer Summer School mit dem Titel „Academic Approaches to Peacebuilding in Yemen“, welche im Sep-tember 2016 in Amman stattfand und Wissenschaftler der Universität Bonn sowie des Gender-Development Research & Studies Center der Universität Sanaa sowie Master- und Promotionsstudierende aus Deutschland und dem Jemen zusammenbrachte. In einer Übung, die jeweils an zwei Vormittagen stattfand, entwickelten die studentischen Teilnehmer unter Anleitung der Herausgeberinnen dieses Papers Emp-fehlungen für Policy Maker und Forscher für Forschung zu Peace-building in Gesellschaften, die sich aktuell in einem Konflikt befinden. Diese Übung hatte zwei Ziele: a) die Entwicklung eines Leitfadens für junge Forscher sowie für NGOs und Policy Maker, die in die Produktion von Wissen über oder für Peacebuilding involviert sind; und b) die Teilnehmenden der Summer School einem interkulturellen / interaka-demischen Schreib- und Lernprozess auszusetzen, indem jeweils ein/e deutsche/r Studierende/r und ein/e jemenitische/r gemeinsam an einer Empfehlung schrieben. Dieses Paper ist das Ergebnis dieser Übung.

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

Cover Adressing Yemen’s Most Critical Challenges

Adressing Yemen’s Most Critical Challenges. Practical Short-term Recommendations

Dieser Policy Brief fasst kurzfristige Handlungsempfehlungen zur Ein-wirkung auf die derzeit größten Herausforderungen in der jemeni-tischen Wirtschaft und Entwicklung zusammen. Diese Empfehlungen resultieren aus dem ersten Development Champions Forum, welches vom 29. April bis 1. Mai 2017 in Amman im Rahmen der ‚Rethinking Yemen’s Economy‘ Initiative stattfand. Die von den Development Champions identifizierten Herausforderungen wurden innerhalb von drei – durchaus überlappender – Kategorien identifiziert: die Nahrungskrise, die Probleme des Bankensektors und der Zusammenbruch der grundlegenden Versorgung (basic services).

Download auf Englisch oder Arabisch

Cover Women nowadays do anything

“Women Nowadays Do Anything.” Women’s Role in Conflict, Peace and Security in Yemen

Von Marie-Christine Heinze und Marwa Baabbad

Diese Studie stellt die Ergebnisse qualitativer Forschung vor, die der Yemen Polling Center (YPC) in Kooperation mit CARPO und Saferworld in Ibb und Aden durchgeführt hat. Der Fokus liegt hier auf den Auswir-kungen des Krieges auf Frauen und ihre Familien in diesen beiden Re-gionen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf Fragen der Sicherheit und auf die Rolle, die Frauen in der Herstellung von Sicherheit und Frieden spielen und gespielt haben.

Download

Saferworld 1

Women’s Role in Peace and Security in Yemen. Literature Review

Von Marie-Christine Heinze

Diese Literaturauswertung bietet einen Überblick über die Rolle von Frauen in Peacebuilding im Jemen mit dem Ziel, Einfluss auf derzeitige Strategien zur Stärkung ihrer Rolle zu nehmen. Das Papier fokussiert daher unter anderem auf die politische Partizipation von Frauen in der Vergangenheit; auf die Auswirkungen von Konflikt auf das Leben von Frauen; auf die sozialen Normen, die weiblichen Aktivismus regulieren; und auf Beispiele der Mitwirkung von Frauen in Peacebuilding Prozessen.

Download

Print Friendly, PDF & Email