The Disaster of Yemen’s Flash Floods. Impact of and Local Responses to the Torrential Rains and Flooding in 2020

The Disaster of Yemen’s Flash Floods. Impact of and Local Responses to the Torrential Rains and Flooding in 2020

by Khalid al-Akwa and Tobias Zumbrägel

Between March and September 2020, and again in May through July 2021, Yemen experienced periods of torrential rain that resulted in flash flooding. Flash floods are and will continue to be a recurrent natural phenomenon with destructive consequences in Yemen, which has not yet received broader attention. This Brief thus provides an overall understanding of the social and economic impact and current management of Yemen’s flash floods to improve disaster prevention and mitigation. It stresses the urgency of creating an independent environmental advisory body, comprised of a range of stakeholders and experts, to coordinate environmental reconstruction work and enhance tangible climate action into future strategies and interventions of national governance management and international humanitarian assistance.

view CARPO/IOA/GDRSC Brief
view printer-friendly version 


Post COVID-19: A Potential for Green Recovery in the Arab Gulf States

Post COVID-19: A Potential for Green Recovery in the Arab Gulf States

by Aisha Al-Sarihi

The novel coronavirus pandemic has disrupted the GCC’s focus on environmental sustainability projects, as shoring up economies and protecting human health have become top priorities for governmental countermeasures. This Brief argues that associating COVID-19 economic recovery packages with measures aimed to safeguard the environment and tackle climate change, towards a so-called ‘green recovery’, will not only ensure long-term resilience and sustainability of economies as countries recover from the pandemic, but also boost economic activity, generate income and create jobs.

view CARPO Brief
view printer-friendly version 


The Looming Climate Peril. Sustainable Strategies and Environmental Activism in the Middle East and North Africa

The Looming Climate Peril. Sustainable Strategies and Environmental Activism in the Middle East and North Africa

by Tobias Zumbrägel

Taking the viewpoint of ‘political ecology’, this first issue of the newly created CARPO Sustainability Series highlights the social and political implications of sustainable transformation across the broader Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. Overall, it aims to achieve four goals: (a) to provide a comprehensive overview of existing research and avenues of thought; (b) to supply a cross-sectoral analysis across the MENA region, rather than in-depth single case studies; (c) to uncover broader implications and dialectic relationships between sustainability and political power constellations; and (d) to sketch out some potential future developments and dynamics over the coming years.

view CARPO Study
view printer-friendly version

The Role of the Environment in Peacebuilding in Yemen

The Role of the Environment in Peacebuilding in Yemen

von Bilkis Zabara und Tobias Zumbrägel 

Die anhaltenden kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen im Jemen verschärfen Umweltprobleme, die wiederum eine langfristige und nachhaltige Friedenförderung erschweren können. In einer breit angelegten Vergleichsstudie, die verschiedene Gouvernorate (Sana’a, Dhamar, Ibb, Ta’iz, Aden und Hadhramaut) umfasst, zeigt dieser Report, dass Jemens zukünftige Stabilität neben wachsenden Verteilungskonflikten auch von langfristigen Klimaveränderungen und anthropogenen Umweltverschmutzungen bedroht ist. Der anhaltende Krieg und die sich fortsetzenden militärischen Aktivitäten tragen auf vielfältige Weise zu dieser drohenden Umwelt- und Klimakrise bei. Angesichts der Bedeutung von ‚environmental peacebuilding‘ für den Jemen bietet dieser Report konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für die internationale Gemeinschaft. 

zum CARPO Report auf Englisch oder Arabisch

zur Printversion auf Englisch oder Arabisch


The Disaster of Yemen’s Flash Floods. Impact of and Local Responses to the Torrential Rains and Flooding in 2020

The Disaster of Yemen’s Flash Floods. Impact of and Local Responses to the Torrential Rains and Flooding in 2020

von Khalid al-Akwa und Tobias Zumbrägel

Zwischen März und September 2020 und erneut von Mai bis Juli 2021 kam es im Jemen zu sintflutartigen Regenfällen, die sich regional zu Sturzfluten entwickelten. Trotz der zum Teil verheerenden Auswirkungen dieser Ereignisse, die sich aufgrund des Klimawandels auch in Zukunft wiederholen werden, wurde dem Thema seitens der Wissenschaft und der internationalen Geberlandschaft bisher kaum Beachtung geschenkt. Dieser Brief bietet ein umfassendes Verständnis der sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Sturzfluten im Jahr 2020 und zeigt, wie mögliche Prävention aussehen können. Basierend auf den Erkenntnissen dieser Studie wird zur Etablierung eines unabhängigen Umweltberatungsgremium geraten, das sich aus einer Reihe von Interessensgruppen und Expert*Innen zusammensetzt – mit dem Ziel, gemeinsam den Wiederaufbau der Zerstörungen im Jemen zu koordinieren und für zukünftige Ereignisse dieser Art Präventionsarbeit zu leisten.

zum CARPO/IOA/GDRSC Brief
zur Printversion


Post COVID-19: A Potential for Green Recovery in the Arab Gulf States

Post COVID-19: A Potential for Green Recovery in the Arab Gulf States

von Aisha Al-Sarihi

Die Coronavirus-Pandemie hat eine umweltbezogene Transformation in den arabischen Golfmonarchien ins Stocken gebracht. Im Gegensatz zu einer ökologisch bewussten und nachhaltigen Entwicklung priorisieren Regierungen nun die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung und eine schnelle wirtschaftliche Erholung. Dieser Brief argumentiert, dass sich wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und Nachhaltigkeit nicht gegenseitig ausschließen: Konjunkturelle Belebung im Zusammenhang mit der COVID-19 Pandemie sollte vielmehr auch Themen des Umweltschutzes umfassen, welches sich in dem Schlagwort einer ‚green recovery‘ abbildet. Nur so können Wachstum, Einkommen und Jobsicherheit auch langfristig gewährleistet werden.

zum CARPO Brief
zur Printversion


The Looming Climate Peril. Sustainable Strategies and Environmental Activism in the Middle East and North Africa

The Looming Climate Peril. Sustainable Strategies and Environmental Activism in the Middle East and North Africa

von Tobias Zumbrägel

In Anlehnung an das Konzept der ‚politischen Ökologie‘ geht diese Studie in vergleichender Analyse den soziopolitischen Dimensionen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung und Transformation im Nahen Osten und Nordafrika nach. Diese erste Veröffentlichung in CARPOs neuer Sustainability Series setzt sich nicht nur grundlegend mit Themen und Forschungszweigen von umweltbezogenen Aspekten in der arabischen Welt auseinander, sie erörtert auch die Frage, inwiefern Nachhaltigkeitstendenzen und Umweltpolitik mit politischen Machtgefügen in Beziehung stehen. Die regionale Querschnittsanalyse schließt mit einem Ausblick auf potentielle Entwicklungsdynamiken in den nächsten Jahren, wobei ein Schwerpunkt auf den Umgang mit einem wachsenden Umweltaktivismus gesetzt wird.

zur CARPO Study
zur Printversion